Mortgage Terms

  • Ability-to-repay rule

    The ability-to-repay rule is the reasonable and good faith determination most mortgage lenders are required to make that you are able to pay back the loan. 

    Abstract of title

    A written history of all the transactions related to the title for a specific tract of land. An abstract of title covers the period from the original source of title (often the original land grant from the United States government to an individual) to the present time and summarizes all subsequent documents that have been recorded against that tract.

    Acceptance

    A buyer’s or seller’s agreement to enter into a contract and be bound by the terms of the offer.

    Account termination fee

    A fee that may be charged if you pay in full and terminate your home equity line of credit during the first 5 years. Paying down to a zero balance does not count as termination. See also: prepayment penalty.

    Additional principal payment

    A payment made by a borrower of more than the scheduled principal amount due in order to reduce the outstanding balance on the loan, to save on interest over the life of the loan and/or pay off the loan early.

    Adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM)

    A mortgage in which your interest rate and monthly payments may change periodically during the life of the loan, based on the fluctuation of an index. Lenders may charge a lower interest rate for the initial period of the loan. Most ARMs have a rate cap that limits the amount the interest rate can change, both in an adjustment period and over the life of the loan. Also called a variable-rate mortgage.

    Adjustment cap

    A limit to how much a variable interest rate can increase or decrease in a single adjustment period.

    Adjustment date

    The date on which the interest rate changes for an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM).

    Adjustment period

    The period of time between adjustment dates for an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM).

    Affordability analysis

    A preliminary analysis of a borrower’s ability to afford the purchase of a home that takes into consideration factors such as income, liabilities and available funds, as well as the type of home loan, the likely taxes and insurance for the home and the estimated closing costs. See also: Prequalification

    Amortization

    The gradual reduction in the principal amount owed on a debt. During the earlier years of the loan, most of each payment is applied toward the interest owed. During the final years of the loan, payment amounts are applied almost exclusively to the remaining principal.

    Amortization table or schedule

    A timetable or schedule that gives you a breakdown of your monthly payments into principal and interest. You can use this schedule to figure out the amount of principal you’ll be repaying during your mortgage term.

    Amortization term

    The amount of time required to amortize (pay off) the loan, expressed in months. For example, for a 15-year fixed-rate mortgage, the amortization term is 180 months.

    Amount financed

    It means the amount of money you are borrowing from the lender, minus most of the upfront fees the lender is charging you. 

    Annual adjustment cap

    A limit on how much the variable interest rate on a loan can increase or decrease each year.

    Annual income

    Annual income is a factor in a mortgage loan application and generally refers to your total earned, pre-tax income over a year. Annual income may include income from full-time or part-time work, self-employment, tips, commissions, overtime, bonuses, or other sources.  A lender will use information about your annual income and your existing monthly debts to determine if you have the ability to repay the loan.

    Whether a lender will rely upon a specific income source or amount when considering you for a loan will often depend upon whether you can reasonably expect the income to continue.

    Annual percentage rate (APR)

    The annual cost of a loan to a borrower. Like an interest rate, the APR is expressed as a percentage. Unlike an interest rate, however, it includes other charges or fees (such as mortgage insurance, most closing costs, discounts points and loan origination fees) to reflect the total cost of the loan. The Federal Truth in Lending Act requires that every consumer loan agreement disclose the APR. Since all lenders must follow the same rules to ensure the accuracy of the APR, borrowers can use the APR as a good basis for comparing the costs of similar credit transactions.

    Application fees

    Nonrefundable fees paid when you apply for your loan. These fees may include charges for items such as, for example, a credit profile or a property appraisal.

    Appraisal or appraised value

    An informed estimate of the value of a property. When made in connection with an application for a loan secured by a home, a professional appraiser usually performs the appraisal.

    Appraisal contingency

    A contingency in a sales contract that the property must appraise at a value that is equal to or greater than your offering price.

    Appraisal fee

    An appraisal fee is the cost of a home appraisal of a house you plan to buy or already own. Home appraisals provide an independent assessment of the value of the property. In most cases, the selection of the appraiser and any associated costs is up to your lender.

    Appreciation

    An increase in the value of property over time. Important factors in a home’s appreciation are its location, condition and the selling price of similar homes in the area. Appreciation increases the amount of equity, which may also increase the amount you can borrow for a home equity line of credit.

    Approved term (after approval)

    The number of months that it will take to pay off your loan. The approved term is used to determine the payment amount, repayment schedule and total interest paid over the life of the loan. See also: Term

    Approved term (before approval)

    The number of months that it will take to pay off your loan. The approved term is used to determine the payment amount, repayment schedule and total interest paid over the life of the loan. See also: Term

    Assessed value

    The value of a property, established by a public tax assessor. The assessed value is used to determine property taxes.

    Assignment

    The method of transferring a right or contract, such as the terms of a loan, from one person to another.

    Assumable loan

    A loan that may be transferred to someone else while maintaining the same terms. For example, if you have an assumable loan (not all loans are assumable) and you sell your home, you may be able to transfer that loan to the new owner with no change in the interest rate and repayment schedule, though you may need to pay a fee in order to do so.

    Automatic payment

    Automatic payments allow you to set up recurring mortgage payments through your bank. Automatic payments can be a convenient way to make sure that you make your payments on time. 

  • Balance Sheet

    A dated financial statement (in table form) that shows your assets, liabilities and net worth.

    Balloon loan

    A loan that provides you with lower-than-usual monthly payments for a set period of time followed by a payment larger than usual at the end of your loan repayment period. While a balloon loan may lower your monthly payments it can also mean you make higher interest payments over the life of the loan.

    Base rate

    An interest rate that is used as a benchmark, or index, for pricing variable-rate loans such as adjustable-rate mortgages, auto loans and credit cards.

    Basis point

    An amount equal to 1/100th of a percentage point. For example, a fee calculated as 50 basis points of $200,000 would be 0.50% or $1,000.

    Bi-weekly payment

    In a bi-weekly payment plan, the mortgage servicer is collecting half of your monthly payment every two weeks, resulting in 26 payments over the course of the year (totaling one extra monthly payment per year). By making additional payments and applying your payments to the principal, you may be able to pay off your loan early. Before choosing a bi-weekly payment, be sure to review your loan terms to see if you will be subject to a prepayment penalty if you do so. Check if your servicer charges any fees for a bi-weekly payment plan. You may be able to accomplish the same goal without the fee by making an extra monthly mortgage payment each year.

    Bond

    An interest-bearing certificate of debt with a maturity date. A real estate bond is a written obligation that is usually secured by a mortgage or a deed of trust.

    Break even point

    The point at which total income equals total expenses. Also used in connection with decisions related to purchasing discount points on a mortgage. Calculating the break even point will identify how many months it will take to recoup the costs associated with paying for the discount point amount under consideration. In other words, if $3,600 is paid toward discount points to reduce the interest rate and the reduced rate would decrease the monthly mortgage payment by $100, it would take 3 years to break even on the choice to pay the discount point amount.

    Bridge loan

    A type of mortgage financing between the termination of one loan and the start of another loan. For example, a bridge loan might be taken out by a borrower and secured by that borrower’s present home so that the closing on a new house can take place before the present home is sold.

    Broker

    A third party who arranges funding or negotiates a contract between parties, but does not lend the money.

    Broker fees

    Fees charged by a real estate broker or a mortgage broker for providing assistance in a real estate transaction.

    Buydown

    The lump-sum prepayment of all or a portion of your mortgage interest by a lender or homebuilder in order to lower your monthly mortgage payment, typically for a period of 1-3 years. See also: Term

  • Call option

    A provision in a loan that gives the lender the right to accelerate the debt and require full payment of the loan immediately at the end of a specified period or for specified reason.

    Cap

    A limit on how much a variable interest rate can increase. Many adjustable-rate mortgages have both annual (or semiannual) rate caps and lifetime caps. They limit the amount your payments can increase in an adjustment period and over the life of the loan. See: Interest rate cap

    Cash available for closing

    Borrower funds that are available to cover down payment and closing costs. If lending guidelines require the borrower to have cash reserves at the time the loan closes or that the down payment come from specified sources, the borrower’s cash available for closing does not include cash reserves or money from those specified sources.

    Cash to close

    The amount a homebuyer needs in cash at the closing of the loan. This typically, this includes down payment and closing costs.

    Cash-out refinance

    A refinance transaction in which the new loan amount exceeds the total of the principal balance of the existing first mortgage and any secondary mortgages or liens, together with closing costs and points for the new loan. This excess is usually given to the borrower in cash and can often be used for debt consolidation, home improvement or any other purpose.

    Ceiling rate

    The maximum interest rate that can accrue on a variable rate loan or adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM).

    Certificate of eligibility

    A document issued by the federal government certifying a veteran’s eligibility for a Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) loan.

    Certificate of reasonable value (CRV)

    A document issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) that establishes the maximum value and loan amount for a VA loan, based on an approved appraisal.

    Certificate of title

    A statement provided by an abstract company, title company or attorney stating who holds title to real estate based on the public record.

    Chain of title

    The history of all of the documents affecting title to a parcel of real property, starting with the earliest existing document and ending with the most recent.

    Clear title

    Titles that are marketable and are free of liens or disputed legal questions as to ownership of the property.

    Close

    The Close step is the date you will sign and execute your new loan documents.

    Depending on the location of the property or type of transaction, the three business days right of rescission period may apply before your funds are available to you.

    The three business days right of rescission period states that in certain real estate secured transactions that involve the refinance of a primary residence, the Truth in Lending Act allows applicants 3 business days to cancel the transaction and prohibits lenders from disbursing proceeds until after the rescission period has lapsed.

    Closed

    A status of closed indicates that no further action is required on this item.

    Closing

    The time and place, at which all documents for your loan are signed, dated, and notarized. See also: settlement

    Closing costs

    Closing costs, also known as settlement costs, are the costs incurred when obtaining your loan. For new purchases, these costs also include ownership transfer of any collateral property from the seller to you. Costs may include and are not limited to: attorney's fees, preparation and title search fees, discount points, appraisal fees, title insurance, and credit report charges. They are typically about 3% of your loan amount, and are often paid at closing or just before your loan closes.

    Funds often needed to close a loan, such as homeowners insurance, property taxes, and escrow impound account funds, aren't included in closing costs and are considered separate. You should be prepared to pay these costs before your loan closes.

    Closing date

    The date you will sign your new loan documents.

    Closing Disclosure (CD)

    A closing document which provides key information such as interest rate, monthly payments, and costs to close the loan. Consumers are required to receive this form no later than 3 business days before they close on the loan.

    Closing statement

    An accounting of funds given to both buyer and seller before real estate is sold.

    Co-borrower

    An additional person who assumes equal responsibility for repayment of a loan and is fully obligated under the terms of the loan. This person also has equal rights to the proceeds of the loan.

    COBRA (Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act)

    Requires employers with more than 20 employees to make group health care coverage available for 18 months, at the employee’s expense, to employees who leave the employer for any reason other than gross misconduct.

    Coinsurance

    A sharing of insurance risk between the insurer and the insured. Coinsurance depends on the relationship between the amount of the policy and a specified percentage of the actual value of the property insured at the time of the loss.

    Collateral

    An asset, such as a car or a home, used for securing the repayment of a loan. The borrower risks losing the asset if the loan is not repaid.

    Collection

    The efforts used to bring a delinquent loan current and, if necessary, to file legal papers and notices to proceed with foreclosure.

    Combination Loan

    A combination loan pairs a conforming first mortgage with a home equity second mortgage for up to 80% of the property's value in a single application with 1 down payment. Combination loans may help you avoid the higher rates of a jumbo first mortgage. Combination loans are made up of 3 parts: 70% first mortgage, 10% home equity second mortgage and 20% down payment.

    Combined liens

    The outstanding balance of all mortgages held on a property. Used to determine the total available equity when considering the appraised value of the property less total combined or outstanding liens.

    Combined loan-to-value ratio (CLTV)

    The ratio between the unpaid principal amount of your first mortgage, plus your credit limit if you have a home equity line of credit, and the appraised value of your home. Expressed as a percentage.

    Commitment letter

    Comparables (comps)

    Properties similar to the property under consideration for a mortgage that have approximately the same size, location and amenities and have recently been sold. Comparables help an appraiser determine the fair market value of a property.

    Compound interest

    Interest paid on the principal balance and on the accrued and unpaid interest.

    Conforming loan

    A mortgage loan that has the standard features as defined by (and is eligible for sale to) Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

    Construction loan

    A short-term interim loan for financing the cost of home construction. The lender makes payments to the builder at periodic intervals as the work progresses.

    Contingency

    A specified condition in a sales contract that must be satisfied before the home sale can occur. When buying a home, the 2 most common contingencies are that the house must pass inspection and that the borrower must be approved for a loan.

    Contractual Payment: First Mortgage

    For a mortgage, the contractual payment is the required monthly payment amount for your home loan as described and determined by your loan contract. The contractual payment may include principal and interest due and may include a portion of funds due to cover homeowners insurance, mortgage insurance (if applicable), and property taxes associated with your home.

    Here's how it works:

    Principal + interest + mortgage insurance (if applicable) + homeowners insurance and tax (if applicable) = full contractual payment.

    Contractual Payment: Home Equity Line of Credit

    For a home equity line of credit, the contractual payment is the amount owed each month, which may fluctuate based on usage of the line and the terms of your loan agreement. At times, your Contractual Payment may consist of interest only or interest and principal payments.

    Conventional loan

    A home loan that is not insured or guaranteed by the federal government. A conventional loan can be for conforming or non-conforming loan amounts.

    Convertibility clause

    A provision in some adjustable-rate mortgages (ARMs) that allows the borrower to change the ARM to a fixed-rate loan at specified times during the life of the loan.

    Convertible ARM

    An adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) that can be converted to a fixed-rate loan under specified conditions.

    Convey

    To transfer or deliver title to property from one to another by deed or contract. When an item becomes a part of the transfer of title, it is conveyed with the property.

    Co-signer/Co-borrower

    A second person who signs your loan and assumes equal responsibility for payment of the loan but receives no benefit from the loan proceeds.

    Cost of Funds Index (COFI)

    An index that is used to determine interest rate changes for certain adjustable-rate mortgages (ARMs). It represents the weighted-average cost of savings, borrowings and advances of the 11th District members of the Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco. See also: Adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM)

    Covenant

    A promise in a mortgage or deed that requires or prevents certain uses of the property that, if violated, may result in loss or foreclosure of the property.

    Credit bureau

    An organization that gathers, records, updates and stores financial and public records of individuals who have been granted credit and provides this information to lenders and other authorized users for a fee. The 3 major credit bureaus are Equifax, Experian and TransUnion and you are legally entitled to receive 1 free report each year from each of these agencies.

    Credit history

    A credit history is a record of your credit accounts and your history of paying on time as shown in your credit report. Consumer reporting companies, also known as credit reporting companies, collect and update information about your credit record and provide it to other businesses, which use it make decisions about you. Credit reports have information about your credit activity and current credit situation such as your loan paying history and the status of your credit accounts.

    Credit limit

    The maximum amount you can borrow under a line of credit.

    Credit monitoring service

    A service that offers the benefit of early detection of unauthorized activity in order to limit the amount of financial damage that a person may suffer at the hands of an identity thief.

    Credit report

    A record of an individual’s debts and payment habits. It helps a lender determine whether or not a potential borrower is a good business risk. The 3 major credit bureaus that provide credit reports are Equifax, Experian and TransUnion and you are legally entitled to receive 1 free report each year from each of these agencies. Learn how to read a credit report

    Credit risk

    The likelihood that a borrower will pay their obligations as agreed. Borrowers who pay as agreed pose less credit risk to lenders.

    Credit score

    A number that rates the quality of an individual’s credit. The number helps predict the relative likelihood that a person will repay a credit obligation, such as a mortgage loan. In general, the higher your credit score, the more likely you are to be approved for and to pay a lower interest rate on a loan. See how Bank of America credit card holders can obtain a free monthly score

    Creditor

    A person or business from whom you borrow or to whom you owe money.

    Creditworthiness

    The likely ability of a borrower to repay debt.

    Cumulative interest

    Total interest accrued.

    Curtailment

    A payment that reduces the principal balance of a loan.

  • Debt consolidation

    A single loan to pay off multiple debts, usually over a longer term. This is a popular use for a home equity line of credit.

    Debt-to-income ratio

    Your total monthly debt payments (for example: loans, credit cards and court-ordered payments) divided by your gross monthly income before taxes and expressed as a percentage. Federal Housing Administration (FHA) guidelines popup in early 2017 recommend that your monthly mortgage payment should be no greater than 31% of your monthly income before taxes and your total monthly debt should be no greater than 43% of your monthly income before taxes.

    Deed (warranty or quit-claim)

    A document that legally transfers ownership of real estate from a seller to a buyer and delivered to the buyer at closing. Before making a loan, a lender will usually require a title search or a title report to make sure the borrower legally owns the real estate that is being used to secure the loan.

    Deed-in-lieu of foreclosure

    A deed-in-lieu of foreclosure is an arrangement where you voluntarily turn over ownership of your home to the lender to avoid the foreclosure process. A deed-in-lieu of foreclosure may help you avoid being personally liable for any amount remaining on the mortgage. If you live in a state in which you are responsible for any deficiency, which is a difference between the value of your property and the amount you still owe on your mortgage loan, you will want to ask your lender to waive the deficiency. If the lender waives the deficiency, get the waiver in writing and keep it for your records. A deed-in-lieu of foreclosure is one type of loss mitigation.

    Deed of trust

    The document used in some states instead of a mortgage; title is vested in a trustee to secure repayment of the loan.

    Default

    Failure to make mortgage payments on time or to meet other terms of a loan. Default can lead to foreclosure.

    Delinquent

    Delinquent is another term for being late on your payments. Your loan can become delinquent when you miss a payment or don’t make a full payment by the due date. After you are delinquent for a certain period of time, a lender or servicer may begin the foreclosure process. The amount of time can vary by state.

    Federal rules may also apply to when the foreclosure may start.

    Demand feature

    The Closing Disclosure has a statement that reads "Your loan has a demand feature," which is checked "yes" or "no." A demand feature permits the lender to require early repayment of the loan.

    Discount points

    See: Points

    Down payment

    The amount of cash you pay toward the purchase of your home to make up the difference between the purchase price and your mortgage loan. Down payments often range between 5% and 20% of the sales price depending on many factors, including your loan, your lender and your credit history. How much of a down payment should you make?

    Down payment programs or grants

    A down payment grant or program typically refers to assistance provided by an organization such as a government or non-profit agency, to a homebuyer to assist them with the down payment for a home purchase. The funds may be provided as an outright grant or may require repayment, such as when the home is sold.

    Draw

    The process of obtaining an advance against your available line of credit.

    Draw period

    The period during which a borrower can obtain advances (also called draws) from an available line of credit. At the end of the draw period, borrowers may be able to renew the credit line or be required to pay the outstanding balance in full or in monthly installments.

    Due-on-sale provision

    A provision in a mortgage home loan that allows the lender to demand repayment in full if the borrower sells the property that serves as security for the loan.

  • Earnest money

    Earnest money is a deposit a buyer pays to show good faith on a signed contract agreement to buy a home. The deposit is held by a seller or third party like a real estate agent or title company. If the home sale is finalized or “closed” the earnest money may be applied to closing costs or the down payment. If the contract is terminated for a permissible reason, the earnest money is returned to the buyer. If the buyer does not perform in good faith, the earnest money may be forfeited and paid out to the seller.

    Encumbrance

    Any lien or liability attached to a property that affects or limits the title to that property, for example unpaid taxes, mortgages and leases.

    Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA)

    A federal law that requires lenders and other creditors to make credit available without discrimination based on race, color, religion, national origin, age, sex, marital status or receipt of income from public assistance programs. Learn more about the ECOA popup

    Equity

    The difference between the fair market value (appraised value) of your home and your outstanding mortgage balances and other liens.

    Escrow

    An escrow account is set up by your mortgage lender to pay certain property-related expenses, like property taxes and homeowner’s insurance. A portion of your monthly payment goes into the account.  If your mortgage doesn’t have an escrow account, you pay the property-related expenses directly.

    Escrow account

    An escrow account is created at no cost to you to hold money to pay your homeowners insurance and property taxes on your behalf. We obtain information to determine the yearly insurance and tax amounts due on the property and include those amounts in your contractual payments to eliminate a large one-time expense to you. Escrow funds received as part of contractual payments are placed into an escrow account. When an insurance or property tax bill is received, escrow funds collected over time in the escrow account are used to pay these bills.

    Escrow accounts can also be referred to as Impound Accounts.

    Escrow impound account

    Typically refers to an account set up by a lender in which funds to pay for real estate taxes and homeowners insurance are deposited as part of the borrower's monthly mortgage payment, then disbursed as tax and insurance payments come due.

    Escrow analysis

    An escrow analysis is performed periodically (generally once per year or more often due to specific events, such as a loan modification) and compares the amounts collected and paid into the escrow account with the actual charges paid out of the escrow account for taxes and insurance billed.

    The analysis also projects what will be paid out of escrow over the next year and calculates the escrow payment amounts that will be needed to fund your escrow account for the upcoming year.

    Escrow overage

    An escrow overage will occur when your escrow account balance exceeds the required minimum balance for the account. These escrow overages typically happen when there is a decrease in your property taxes or insurance premiums. When this happens, you may receive an escrow overage refund check or funds may be applied towards a future escrow balance.

    Escrow shortage

    An escrow shortage will occur when the balance in your escrow account drops below the required minimum balance. These escrow shortages typically happen when there is an increase in your property taxes or insurance premiums. When this happens, you may need to make up the shortage through an increase in your contractual payment or you may elect to make a separate payment into the escrow account.

    Extra Payment/Payment Overage

    When you pay more than your contractual payment, the additional amount that is paid, can either pay your next month's contractual payment or reduce the unpaid principal balance of your mortgage after satisfying any other amounts that are due (for example, outstanding fees, etc.). This may reduce the interest assessed in the future.

    See the How do you apply my home loan payment? FAQ in the Making mortgage payments section on our FAQ page.

  • Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA)

    Law passed by Congress to give borrowers certain rights when dealing with consumer reporting agencies, or credit bureaus. All credit bureaus are required to provide accurate credit histories to authorized businesses for use in evaluating applications for insurance, employment, credit or loans. Learn more about the FCRA popup

    Fair market value

    The likely selling price of a home. The fair market value is usually determined by an appraisal.

    Fannie Mae

    The Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) purchases and guarantees mortgages from lending institutions in an effort to increase affordable lending. Fannie Mae is not a federal agency. It is a government-sponsored enterprise under the conservatorship of the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA).

    Federal Housing Administration (FHA)

    An agency of the Department of Housing and Urban Development. The FHA provides mortgage insurance for certain residential mortgages. It also sets standards for underwriting these mortgages and for construction of homes secured by these mortgages. Visit the FHA website popup

    Fee Simple

    Clear and absolute ownership of a piece of property. The fee simple owner of a property has the right to use the land in any way desired, for example: build on it, sell it or lease it.

    FHA funding fee

    The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) requires an FHA funding fee and a monthly insurance premium (MIP) for most of its single-family programs. This upfront mortgage insurance premium is sometimes called an upfront mortgage insurance premium (UFMIP).

    FHA loan

    FHA loans are loans from private lenders that are regulated and insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA). FHA loans differ from conventional loans because they allow for lower credit scores and down payments as low as 3.5 percent of the total loan amount. Maximum loan amounts vary by county. 

    FHA mortgage limits

    FHA mortgage limits are the dollar amount limits for qualifying mortgages that the FHA will insure as part of its single-family home mortgage program. These limits are based upon location and they may be revised each year.

    FHA home loan

    A mortgage that is insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA). Also known as a government loan. FHA mortgage insurance protects the lender (not the borrower) if a borrower defaults on the FHA loan. This insurance enables a lender to provide loan options and benefits often not available through conventional financing.

    FICO®

    An acronym for Fair Isaac Corporation, which develops the mathematical formulas used to produce credit scores for assessing credit risk. FICO scores fall between a low of 300 and a high of 850. The higher the FICO score, the lower credit risk a consumer presents. Learn more about FICO scores

    Finance charge

    The cost of consumer credit expressed as a dollar amount. It includes the amount of interest you will pay during the terms of the loan, origination points and certain other items. Some closing costs are not treated as finance charges.

    First-time home buyers (FTHB) loan programs

    First-time home buyers (FTHB) may use a number of different types of loan programs to purchase their first home. Popular FTHB loans include programs offered by FHA, VA, USDA, Fannie Mae, and Freddie Mac with low down payments. Some programs define a FTHB as someone who hasn’t purchased a home in three years or more.

    First mortgage

    A mortgage that is the senior lien against a property.

    Fixed-rate mortgage

    A home loan with a predetermined fixed interest rate for the entire term of the loan.

    Fixed-rate option (Fixed-Rate Loan Option)

    An option available on certain home equity lines of credit allowing borrowers to fix the payments and interest rate on a portion of their outstanding principal balance for a specific term. Customers may be charged a fee for this privilege.

    Floating rate

    A loan rate for which the lender has not "locked" or committed to lend at a particular interest rate. The floating interest rate and any discount points are not guaranteed. Your actual interest rate and discount points will be based on the market price available for your loan product at the time your interest rate is locked.

    Flood certification

    A determination by a reputable source about whether property is located within a special flood hazard zone.

    Flood insurance

    Insurance that protects against loss due to floods. When available, this type of insurance is required by law when a property is located within a special flood hazard zone.

    Forbearance

    Forbearance is when your servicer allows you temporarily to pay your mortgage at a lower rate or temporarily to stop paying your mortgage. Your servicer may grant you forbearance if, for example, you recently lost your job, suffered from a disaster, or from an illness or injury that increased your health care costs. Forbearance is a type of loss mitigation.

    Learn more about mortgage forbearance

    Depending on the kind of loan you have, there may be different forbearance options. You must contact your loan servicer to request forbearance. Remember that you will have to make up these missed or reduced payments when your forbearance period is over.

    Force-placed insurance

    Your servicer may require force-placed insurance when you do not have your own insurance policy or if your own policy doesn’t meet your servicer’s requirements. Force-placed insurance usually protects only the lender, not you. The servicer will charge you for the insurance. Force-placed insurance is usually more expensive than finding an insurance policy yourself.

    Foreclosure

    A legal procedure in which property securing a defaulted loan is sold by the lender in order to repay a borrower’s loan. The amount paid by a buyer at the foreclosure may not be enough to fully repay the loan and the borrower may continue to owe the lender the difference.

    Forfeiture

    The loss of money, property, rights or privileges due to a breach of legal obligation.

    Form 1098

    A legal tax form that reports the amount of interest and points paid during the previous year.

    Freddie Mac

    The Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac) is a private corporation founded by Congress. Its mission is to promote stability and affordability in the housing market by purchasing mortgages from banks and other loan makers. The corporation is currently under conservatorship, under the direction of the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA).

    Funding date

    The date on which the proceeds from a loan are available to or disbursed for the benefit of the borrowers.

  • Good faith estimate (GFE)

    An itemized, detailed list of certain estimated costs associated with a home loan that the lender is required to provide to the borrower within 3 business days of the application.

    Government loan

    A loan that is insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), guaranteed by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) or guaranteed by the Rural Housing Service (RHS). The insurance protects the lender (not the borrower) if a borrower defaults on the loan. This insurance enables a lender to provide loan options and benefits often not available through conventional financing.

    Government National Mortgage Association (GNMA or Ginnie Mae)

    A government-owned corporation within the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Created by Congress on September 1, 1968, GNMA assumed responsibility for the special assistance loan programs formerly administered by Fannie Mae. Visit the Ginnie Mae website

    Government recording charges

    Government recording charges are fees assessed by state and local government agencies for legally recording your deed, mortgage and documents related to your home loan. 

  • Higher-priced mortgage loan

    In general, a higher-priced mortgage loan is one with an annual percentage rate, or APR, higher than a benchmark rate called the Average Prime Offer Rate.

    Homeowners' Association (HOA)

    A homeowners' association (HOA), is typically formed to manage shared expenses such as landscaping and other maintenance costs for a planned subdivision or other organized community. Condominium HOAs take on more responsibilities including, for example, the maintenance of driveways, shared structures, and roofs.

    HOA dues

    If you’re interested in buying a condo, co-op, or a home in a planned subdivision or other organized community with shared services, you usually have to pay condo fees or Homeowners’ Association (HOA) dues. These fees vary widely. Condo or HOA fees are usually paid separately from your monthly mortgage payment. If you do not pay these fees, you can face debt collection efforts by the homeowner’s association and even foreclosure.

    Home appraisal

    An appraisal is a written document that shows an opinion of how much a property is worth. The appraisal gives you useful information about the property. It describes what makes it valuable and may show how it compares to other properties in the neighborhood. An appraisal is an independent assessment of the value of the property. 

    Home equity line of credit (HELOC)

    A home equity line of credit (HELOC) is a line of credit that allows you to borrow against your home equity. Equity is the amount your property is currently worth, minus the amount of any mortgage on your property. Unlike a home equity loan, HELOCs usually have adjustable interest rates. For most HELOCs, you will receive special checks or a credit card, and you can borrow money for a specified time from when you open your account. This time period is known as the “draw period.” During the “draw period,” you can borrow money, and you must make minimum payments. When the “draw period” ends, you will no longer be able to borrow money from your line of credit. After the “draw period” ends you may be required to pay off your balance all at once or you may be allowed to repay over a certain period of time. If you cannot pay back the HELOC, the lender could foreclose on your home. 

    Home equity loan

    A home equity loan (sometimes called a HEL) allows you to borrow money using the equity in your home as collateral. Equity is the amount your property is currently worth, minus the amount of any existing mortgage on your property.  You receive the money from a home equity loan as a lump sum. A home equity loan usually has a fixed interest rate – one that will not change. If you cannot pay back the HEL, the lender could foreclose on your home. 

    Home inspection

    A home inspection is often part of the home buying process. You typically have the right to hire a home inspector to examine a property and point out its strengths and weaknesses. This is often especially helpful to test a home’s structural and mechanical systems including heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and electrical.

    Home purchase price

    A home’s purchase price is the amount agreed to by the buyer and seller to be paid to the seller to purchase the home.

    Homeowners insurance

    Insurance to protect your home against damage from fire, hurricanes and other catastrophes. Usually, homeowners insurance also covers you against theft and vandalism, as well as personal liability in case someone is hurt or injured on your property. A lender will likely require you to name it as a payee under the insurance if you need to make a claim. Also called hazard insurance.

    HUD

    The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is a government agency that helps people get and maintain quality affordable housing. They train and sponsor housing counselors all over the country. A HUD-approved housing counseling agency can provide you with homebuyer counseling to help you understand and evaluate your options.

    HUD-1 settlement statement

    The HUD-1 Settlement Statement lists all charges and credits to the buyer and to the seller in a real estate settlement, or all the charges in a mortgage refinance. You receive a HUD-1 if you apply for a reverse mortgage or if you applied for a mortgage on or before October 3, 2015. 

  • Impound account

    See: escrow impound account

    Impounding

    The collection and placement of monies by a lender into an account in order to pay the borrower’s property taxes and insurance premiums when they become due.

    Income

    Regular income from earnings, commissions, investments, rental payments or other sources.

    Income property

    Real estate developed or improved to produce income.

    Index

    When used in a mortgage note or credit agreement, a financial index is the measurement used to decide how much the annual percentage rate will change at the beginning of each adjustment period. Generally, the index plus or minus margin equals the new rate that will be charged, subject to any caps. Lenders use various financial index rates: Secured Overnight Financing Rate[(SOFR) and Treasury-Indexed ARMs (T-Bills)]

    Inflation rate

    The increase in price of consumer goods, usually expressed as a percentage over a specific period of time.

    Initial adjustment cap

    An initial adjustment cap is typically associated with adjustable rate mortgages (ARMs). This cap determines how much the interest rate can increase the first time it adjusts after the fixed-rate period expires. It’s common for this cap to be either two or five percent – meaning that at the first rate change, the new rate can’t be more than two (or five) percentage points higher than the initial rate during the fixed-rate period.

    Initial advance

    The process of obtaining an advance against available credit under your line of credit.

    Initial advance at closing

    You have chosen our funds transfer option to reduce your interest rate. Please verify that the account information is correct. If you maintain at least this $25,000 balance for the first three consecutive billing cycles the account is open, you will receive .25% off your approved rate for the life of the line.

    Initial advance of $25,000 or more

    The initial advance of $25,000 or more discount applies for drawing an initial advance of $25,000 or more, and maintaining at least that minimum balance for the first 3 full consecutive billing cycles.

    Initial draw amount

    The proceeds of the home equity line of credit or construction loan up to an amount the borrower is allowed to request at closing.

    Initial escrow deposit

    An initial escrow deposit is the amount that you will pay at closing to start your escrow account, if required by your lender. 

    Initial rate

    The starting interest rate. Some people call this the “teaser rate,” because it gives you low interest and low monthly payments at the beginning, but may adjust up at the next adjustment period (it will usually adjust even if the index doesn’t go up, since it’s lower than index plus margin for the initial period).

    Inquiry

    A request for your credit report, made by you or a company considering you for an offer of credit.

    Installment loan

    A loan that is repaid in equal payments, known as installments.

    Insurance

    A contract that provides compensation for specific losses in exchange for a periodic payment. An individual contract is known as an insurance policy, and the periodic payment is known as an insurance premium.

    Insurance binder

    A document that states that insurance is temporarily in effect. Because the coverage will expire by a specified date, a permanent policy must be obtained before the expiration date.

    Insured mortgage

    A mortgage that is protected by an insurer in case of default. The insurance protects the lender (not the borrower) if a borrower defaults on the loan.

    Interest accrual rate

    The percentage rate at which interest accrues on the mortgage. In most cases, it is also the rate used to calculate the monthly payments.

    Interest-only loan

    A loan for which you pay only the interest due for a portion of the loan term. This lowers your periodic payment but does not decrease your principal balance on the loan. Making interest-only payments will result in larger payments being due at the end of the interest-only payment period. See also: Balloon loan

    Interest rate

    An interest rate on a mortgage loan is the cost you will pay each year to borrow the money, expressed as a percentage rate. It does not reflect fees or any other charges you may have to pay for the loan. For example, if the mortgage loan is for $100,000 at an interest rate of 4 percent, that consumer has agreed to pay $4,000 each year he or she borrows or owes that full amount.

    Interest rate buydown

    See: Buydown

    Interest rate cap

    A limit on how much the variable interest rate can increase at any one time. Many home loans have both annual (or semiannual) caps and lifetime caps, which limit the amount your payments can increase in an adjustment period and over the life of the loan. Many caps allow a rate increase of 2-5% over the starting interest rate in an adjustment period (for example, a starting rate of 5% could increase to 7% or, depending on the loan guidelines, to as much as 10%). A lender’s lifetime interest rate cap is typically 6% over the life of the loan.

    Investment property

    Property that is purchased to generate rental income, or to be sold once it has appreciated in value.

  • Judgment

    A decree by a court of law that one person is indebted to another for a specified amount. In some states, the court may place a lien against the debtor’s real property as collateral for payment of the judgment to the creditor.

    Jumbo loan

    Also known as a nonconforming loan. The amount of the loan exceeds standards that would make it eligible for sale to Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Certain geographical areas have temporary conforming loan limits higher than typical conforming limits. Lenders may charge additional fees and place certain restrictions due to the large loan amounts. Learn more about jumbo loans

  • Lenders title insurance

    Lender’s title insurance protects your lender against problems with the title to your property-such as someone with a legal claim against the home. Lender’s title insurance only protects the lender against problems with the title. To protect yourself, you may want to purchase owner’s title insurance.

    Liabilities

    A person’s debts or financial obligations. Liabilities include long-term and short-term debt, as well as potential losses from legal claims.

    Liability insurance

    See: Homeowners insurance

    Lien

    The legal claim of a creditor on a borrower’s property, to be used as security for a debt.

    Lien holder

    An individual or entity that has placed a lien on real property.

    Lifetime adjustment cap

    A lifetime adjustment cap is typically used with adjustable rate mortgages (ARMs). This cap determines how much the interest rate can increase in total, over the life of the loan. For example, if this cap is five percent, that means the rate can never be five percentage points higher than the initial rate. Some lenders may have a different or higher cap.

    Line of credit

    An agreement by a lender to extend credit up to a maximum amount for a specified time. In a home equity line of credit, the line of credit is secured by the borrower’s home. Learn more about a home equity line of credit

    Loan assumption

    Loan assumption happens when a buyer takes over the mortgage from a seller when they purchase the seller’s home. The buyer takes over the remaining balance owed on the seller’s mortgage, on the original loan terms—for example, the interest rate and the remaining length of the mortgage. A loan assumption might make financial sense when new mortgages are being offered at higher interest rates than when the seller originally took out their mortgage.

    The difference between the home’s sale price and the balance on the assumed loan equals the amount the buyer needs to pay, either out of pocket or by taking out their own mortgage loan.

    To take over the mortgage, the homebuyer needs to qualify for the loan assumption. Qualifying is usually based on a review of the buyer’s credit and income, similar to qualifying for a new mortgage.

    Loan assumption could also apply when you receive the title to a property that has a mortgage – for example, after a death or divorce.

    Loan commitment

    A formal notification from a lender stating that the borrower’s loan has been conditionally approved and specifying the terms under which the lender agrees to make the loan.

    Loan deferment

    Borrowers who are struggling to make payments on a mortgage generally have the right to ask the mortgage servicer for help. The servicer can agree to a loan deferment, which allows the borrower to avoid foreclosure by postponing their overdue mortgage payments. The deferred amount comes due when the borrower refinances the loan or sells the home, or the mortgage ends in another way.

    Loan Estimate (LE)

    Disclosure to help consumers understand the key loan terms and estimated costs of a mortgage before they make a complete application. After a consumer submits 6 key elements: name, income, social security number, property address, estimated property value and desired loan amount, the lender is required to provide this form. All lenders are required to use the same standard loan estimate form to make it easier for consumers to compare and shop for a mortgage.

    Loan modification

    A mortgage loan modification is a change in your loan terms. The modification is a type of loss mitigation. A modification can reduce your monthly payment to an amount you can afford. Modifications may involve extending the number of years you have to repay the loan, reducing your interest rate, and/or forbearing or reducing your principal balance. If you are offered a loan modification, be sure you know how it will change your monthly payments and the total amount that you will owe in the short-term and the long-term.

    Loan origination

    The process by which a mortgage lender makes a home loan and records a mortgage against the borrower’s real property as security for repayment of the loan.

    Loan term

    See: Term

    Loan-to-value ratio (LTV)

    The ratio between the unpaid principal amount of your loan, or your credit limit in the case of a line of credit, and the appraised value of your collateral. Expressed as a percentage. For example, if you have an $80,000 first mortgage on a property with an appraised value of $100,000, the LTV is 80% ($80,000 / $100,000 = 80%).

    Lock period

    The amount of time prior to closing that you can secure an interest rate for your loan. Lock periods typically range from 30 days to more than 90 days. Generally, the longer the lock period, the more you pay in points or interest.

    Loss mitigation

    Loss mitigation refers to the steps mortgage servicers take to work with a mortgage borrower to avoid foreclosure. Loss mitigation refers to a servicer’s responsibility to reduce or “mitigate” the loss to the investor that can come from a foreclosure. Certain loss-mitigation options may help you stay in your home. Other options may help you leave your home without going through foreclosure. Loss mitigation options may include deed-in-lieu of foreclosureforbearance, repayment plan, short sale, or a loan modification

    If you are having trouble making your mortgage payments, or if you have been offered and are considering various loss mitigation options, reach out to a Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)-approved housing counseling agency.  

    You can use the CFPB's "Find a Counselor" tool to get a list of housing counseling agencies in your area that are approved by HUD. You can also call the HOPE™ Hotline, open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, at (888) 995-HOPE (4673).

  • Manufactured housing

    A structure that has been partially or entirely constructed at another location and moved onto the property (on a permanent foundation). A manufactured home may or may not be a mobile home.

    Margin

    The number of percentage points the lender adds to or subtracts from the index rate to determine the interest rate adjustments. The margin is constant throughout the life of the mortgage and is specified in the promissory note.

    Maturity date

    The day on which the outstanding principal, interest and fees on a loan must all be repaid.

    Miscellaneous Payment

    Miscellaneous payments can be submitted within Online Banking and Mobile. Any Miscellaneous Payment made will be applied to the account in accordance with the terms and conditions of your loan which may include application to fees, principal, and/or other categories, such as unapplied funds if less than the current contractual payment due.

    See the How do you apply my home loan payment? FAQ in the Making mortgage payments section on our FAQ page.

    Mobile home

    A type of residence that’s built upon a wheeled chassis and can be transported from site to site.

    Modular home

    A factory-built home that’s erected on-site, with the appearance and characteristics of a site-built residence.

    Monthly expenses

    This is how much you spend every month. It can include, but is not limited to, recurring obligations like rent or mortgage payment, utilities, car payments, child support payments, and insurance payments, as well as essentials like food. Most of these obligations will have a fixed due date.

    Mortgage

    A legal document giving a lender a lien on real estate to secure repayment of a loan. Mortgage loans generally run from 10 to 30 years, after which the loan is required to be paid off. Also called deed of trust and/or security deed.

    Mortgage closing checklist

    A mortgage closing checklist is a list of steps that you can use to prepare and learn what to expect.  It can help you identify key questions to ask ahead of time so that you can close with confidence.

    Mortgage closing costs

    Mortgage closing costs are all of the costs you will pay at closing. This includes origination charges, appraisal fees, credit report costs, title insurance fees, and any other fees required by your lender or paid as part of a real estate mortgage transaction. Lenders are required to provide a summary of these costs to you in the Loan Estimate.

    Mortgage insurance

    For conventional loans, insurance that protects the lender if you default on your loan. If your down payment is less than 20%, most lenders will require you to pay mortgage insurance. Also called private mortgage insurance (PMI).

    Mortgage loan modification

    A mortgage loan modification is a change in your loan terms. The modification is a type of loss mitigation. 

    Mortgage points

    See: Points

    Mortgage refinance

    Mortgage refinance is when you take out a new loan to pay off and replace your old loan. Common reasons to refinance are to lower the monthly interest rate, lower the mortgage payment, or to borrow additional money. When you refinance, you usually have to pay closing costs and fees. If you refinance and get a lower monthly payment, make sure you understand how much of the reduction is from a lower interest rate and how much is because your loan term is longer.

    Mortgage term

    The term of your mortgage loan is how long you have to repay the loan. For most types of homes, mortgage terms are typically 15, 20 or 30 years. 

    Mortgage type

    Generally, there are three basic mortgage programs: Federal Housing Administration (FHA) loans, Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) loans and conventional mortgage loans. VA loans are only offered to qualifying veterans and surviving spouses, while FHA loans are available to all qualifying borrowers. Both VA and FHA loans are guaranteed/insured by the federal government. This insurance protects the lender (not the borrower) should the borrower default and the lender sustains a loss. Conventional loans are available to all qualifying borrowers and are not insured or guaranteed by the federal government.

    Multi-family residence (2 to 4 units)

    A residential property with 2 to 4 individual housing units (duplex, triplex or quadplex).

  • Negative amortization

    The result when monthly payments don’t cover all the interest due on the loan. The unpaid interest is added to the unpaid balance, which means the homebuyer will owe increasingly more than the original amount of the loan.

    New line amount

    The sum of the existing credit line and the amount of additional credit requested.

    No closing cost loan

    A loan in which the borrower is not required to pay cash out-of-pocket at closing for the normal closing costs. The lender typically includes the closing costs in the principal balance or charges a higher interest rate than for a loan with closing costs to cover the advance of closing costs.

    Nonconforming loan

    See: Jumbo loan

    Nonowner occupied

    Properties in which the owner does not live.

    Note

    A written agreement in which the signer promises to pay to a named person or company a specific sum of money at a specified date or on demand.

    Note rate

    The interest rate stated in a mortgage note.

    Notice of default

    A formal written notice to a borrower that a default has occurred and that legal action may be taken.

  • Option ARM

    A type of adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) that offers the borrower a choice of 4 monthly payment options to help provide financial flexibility to manage payments in rising rate markets and take advantage of falling interest rates.

    Origination

    The date that the proceeds of a loan are disbursed.

    Origination date

    The date on which a loan is funded or disbursed.

    Origination fee

    An origination fee is what the lender charges the borrower for making the mortgage loan.  The origination fee may include processing the application, underwriting and funding the loan, and other administrative services. Origination fees generally can only increase under certain circumstances. 

    Owner financing

    A property purchase transaction in which the property seller provides all or part of the financing.

    Owner-occupied

    A property that the owner occupies as a principal residence.

    Owner's title insurance

    Owner’s title insurance provides protection to the homeowner if someone sues and says they have a claim against the home from before the homeowner purchased it. 

  • PACE financing

    PACE financing provides a way to fund energy efficiency home improvements. 

    Payment cap

    A limit on how much a monthly payment can increase at any one time. Some adjustable-rate mortgages have payment caps in addition to annual (or semi-annual) interest rate caps and lifetime interest rate caps. Payment caps don’t limit the amount of interest charged and may cause negative amortization. See also: Interest rate cap

    Payment change date

    The date when a new monthly payment amount takes effect on an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM). Generally, the payment change date occurs in the month immediately after the interest rate adjustment date. The borrower is notified 30 days before the new rate and payment take effect.

    Partial claim

    A partial claim is a way to use mortgage insurance to help a struggling homeowner avoid foreclosure. The mortgage servicer makes a claim against the mortgage insurance for the amount of any missed mortgage payments, and the insurer sets aside the money in a separate account. Then, when the borrower refinances the mortgage, sells the home, or otherwise terminates the mortgage, the partial claim amount is paid out to the mortgage servicer. Sometimes, the partial claim amount does not cover the full amount of the missed payments, and in those cases the borrower must pay the difference.

    Payoff amount

    Your payoff amount is how much you will actually have to pay to satisfy the terms of your mortgage loan and completely pay off your debt. Your payoff amount is different from your current balance. Your current balance might not reflect how much you actually have to pay to completely satisfy the loan. Your payoff amount also includes the payment of any interest you owe through the day you intend to pay off your loan. The payoff amount may also include other fees you have incurred and have not yet paid. 

    PCS orders

    Active duty servicemembers may be given permanent change of station (PCS) orders. PCS orders are an official relocation of a servicemember (and any family living with them) to a different duty location.  If the servicemember owns a home, they may choose to sell it. If the servicemember owes more on the home than the home is worth, they may have trouble selling their home. Some servicers offer programs to allow servicemembers to sell their home and not have to pay back the rest of the loan balance. Visit servicemember resources for more information.

    Per diem interest

    The amount of interest that accrues daily on a loan. This is calculated by multiplying the outstanding loan balance by the annual rate of interest, then dividing the result by 365.

    PITI

    An acronym for principal, interest, taxes and insurance. Also referred to as the monthly housing expense.

    Points

    An amount paid to the lender, typically at closing, to lower (or buy down) the interest rate. One discount point equals one percentage point of the loan amount. For example, 2 points on a $100,000 mortgage would cost $2,000. Negative points indicate the amount to be credited at closing to reduce closing costs. Also called discount points or mortgage points.

    Preapproval

    A lender’s conditional agreement to lend a specific amount of money to a homebuyer under a specified set of terms.

    Prearranged refinancing agreement

    A formal or informal arrangement between a lender and a borrower where the lender agrees to offer special terms (such as a reduction in the rate or closing costs) for a future refinancing as an inducement for the borrower to enter into the original mortgage transaction.

    Preforeclosure sale

    See: Short sale

    Prepaid expenses

    The expenses that are usually paid in advance, such as escrows for taxes and insurance (which are paid at closing).

    Prepaid interest charges

    Prepaid interest charges are charges due at closing for any daily interest that accrues on your loan between the date you close on your mortgage loan and the period covered by your first monthly mortgage payment. 

    Prepayment

    An amount paid to reduce the principal balance of a loan before the principal is due.

    Prepayment penalty

    A penalty assessed by some lenders if a loan is paid off before the specified term. This is a lump-sum amount due and payable in addition to the loan balance, and is usually limited to the early years of a mortgage. See also: Account termination fee

    Prequalification

    The process of providing financial and other information (such as employment history and proposed collateral) by a prospective borrower in order for the lender to preliminarily estimate how much the borrower may obtain for the purchase of a home. A prequalification is not a commitment to lend.

    Prime rate

    The interest rate that banks charge their best customers when lending them money. The U.S. Prime Rate, as published daily by The Wall Street Journal, is based on a survey of the prime rates of the 10 largest banks in the United States. The U.S. Prime Rate is used by some financial institutions to calculate variable interest rates for credit cards. Changes in the U.S. Prime Rate influence changes in other rates, including mortgage interest rates.

    Principal & interest

    The principal is the amount of money borrowed on a loan. The interest is the charge paid for borrowing money. Principal and interest account for the majority of your mortgage payment, which may also include escrow payments for property taxes, homeowners insurance, mortgage insurance and any other costs that are paid monthly, or fees that may come due.

    Principal

    The principal is the amount of a mortgage loan that you have to pay back. Your monthly payment includes a portion of that principal. When a payment on the principal is made, the borrower owes less, and will pay less interest based upon a lower loan size.

    Principal payment

    Portion of your monthly payment that reduces the principal balance of a home loan. This term also refers to prepayments you make to the principal balance.

    PMI

    Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) is a type of mortgage insurance that benefits your lender.  You might be required to pay for PMI if your down payment is less than 20 percent of the property value and you have a conventional loan. You may be able to cancel PMI once you’ve accumulated a certain amount of equity in your home.

    Processing fee

    A fee charged to cover the administrative costs of processing a loan request.

    Promissory note

    A written promise to repay a specified amount over a specified period of time.

    Property taxes

    Property taxes are taxes charged by local jurisdictions, typically at the county level, based upon the value of the property being taxed. Often, property taxes are collected within the homeowner’s monthly mortgage payment, and then paid to the relevant jurisdiction one or more times each year. This is called an escrow account. If the loan does not have an escrow account, then the homeowner will pay the property taxes directly.

    Purchase agreement

    A written contract signed by the buyer and seller stating the terms and conditions under which a property will be sold.

  • Qualified mortgage

    A qualified mortgage is a category of loans that have certain, more stable features that help make it more likely that you’ll be able to afford your loan.

    Qualifying ratios

    Calculations that are used to determine whether a borrower can qualify for a mortgage. They consist of 2 separate calculations: a housing expense as a percent of income and total debt obligations as a percent of income.

    Qualified Written Request (QWR)

    A Qualified Written Request, or QWR, is written correspondence that you or someone acting on your behalf can send to your mortgage servicer. Instead of a QWR, you can also send your servicer a Notice of Error or a Request for Information.

  • Rate

    The amount of interest on a loan, expressed as a percentage.

    Rate cap

    See: Interest rate cap

    Rate lock

    A commitment issued by a lender to a borrower guaranteeing a specific interest rate for a specified period of time. Rate lock periods are for a fixed number of days, and rate lock expiration occurs when that period has passed, subjecting the interest rate on the loan to market fluctuations since the date of the initial rate lock. When a rate lock expires, you will need to contact your lending specialist to establish a new rate lock prior to closing your loan.

    Rate lock expiration

    A commitment issued by a lender to a borrower guaranteeing a specific interest rate for a specified period of time. Rate lock periods are for a fixed number of days, and rate lock expiration occurs when that period has passed, subjecting the interest rate on the loan to market fluctuations since the date of the initial rate lock. When a rate lock expires, you will need to contact your lending specialist to establish a new rate lock prior to closing your loan.

    Rate reduction option

    A provision in a fixed-rate mortgage that gives the borrower the option to reduce the interest rate at a later date without having to refinance. Exercising a rate reduction option typically does not require requalifying for the loan.

    Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA)

    A consumer protection law that, among other things, requires advance disclosure of settlement costs to home buyers and sellers, prohibits certain types of referral and other fees, sets rules for escrow accounts and requires notice to borrowers when servicing of a home loan is transferred.

    Reamortize

    To take the remaining balance of a mortgage loan and establish a new period of amortization after which the principal balance will be zero. Typically used after the end of the term of an interest-only loan.

    Recorder

    A charge for a public official (typically a Registrar of Deeds or County Clerk) noting in the public record the terms of a legal document affecting title to real property such as a deed, a security instrument, a satisfaction of mortgage or an extension of mortgage.

    Recording

    A charge for a public official (typically a Registrar of Deeds or County Clerk) noting in the public record the terms of a legal document affecting title to real property such as a deed, a security instrument, a satisfaction of mortgage or an extension of mortgage.

    Recording fee

    A charge for a public official (typically a Registrar of Deeds or County Clerk) noting in the public record the terms of a legal document affecting title to real property such as a deed, a security instrument, a satisfaction of mortgage or an extension of mortgage.

    Reduced documentation

    A method used to determine income when qualifying a borrower for a loan. Borrower(s) provide their income, however no verification documentation is typically required.

    Refinance

    Paying off your existing loan with the proceeds from a new loan, generally using the same property as collateral, in order to take advantage of lower monthly payments, lower interest rates or save on financing costs.

    Rehabilitation loan

    A first mortgage that enables borrowers to purchase or refinance and rehabilitate homes. With this mortgage product, borrowers can qualify for loan amounts based on the as-completed value of the property, up to the maximum loan limits.

    Repayment period

    The time you have to fully repay your outstanding balance, according to your payment terms. In a home equity line of credit, for example, the repayment period (typically 20 years) is the loan term that follows the draw period (typically 10 years).

    Repayment plan

    A repayment plan is a structured way to make up your missed mortgage loan payments over a certain period of time. This is a type of loss mitigation. If you have trouble making your mortgage payments, your lender or servicer may allow you to enter into a repayment plan. Before entering into a repayment plan, make sure you understand the requirements of the plan and whether you will be able to make the new payments.

    Rescission

    The cancellation of a contract. In certain real estate-secured transactions that involve the refinance of a primary residence, applicants have 3 business days to cancel the transaction.

    Reserves

    The amount of savings, separate from the down payment, that a homebuyer sets aside in case of unforeseen events or emergencies. During the loan approval process, many lenders require reserves (typically the equivalent of 2 monthly mortgage payments) to be verified.

    Reverse mortgage

    A reverse mortgage allows homeowners age 62 or older to borrow against their home equity. It is called a “reverse” mortgage because, instead of making payments to the lender, you receive money from the lender. The money you receive, and the interest charged on the loan, increases the balance of your loan each month. Most reverse mortgages today are called HECMs, short for Home Equity Conversion Mortgage.

    Right of first refusal

    A provision in an agreement that requires the owner of a property to give another party the first opportunity to purchase or lease the property before he or she offers it for sale or lease to others.

    Right of rescission

    The right of rescission refers to the right of a consumer to cancel certain types of loans. If you are buying a home with a mortgage, you do not have a right to cancel the loan once the closing documents are signed. However, if you are refinancing a mortgage, you have until midnight of the third business day after the transaction to rescind (cancel) the mortgage contract. The three-day clock does not start until you sign the credit contract (usually called the promissory note), you receive a Truth in Lending disclosure form, and you receive two copies of a notice explaining your right to rescind.   

    Rural housing loan

    A loan offered by the Rural Housing Service (RHS), an agency within the Department of Agriculture. The RHS provides financing to farmers and other qualified borrowers buying property in rural areas who are unable to obtain loans elsewhere. Funds are borrowed from the U.S. Treasury. See also: Government loan

    Rural Housing Service (RHS)

    A loan offered by the Rural Housing Service (RHS), an agency within the Department of Agriculture. The RHS provides financing to farmers and other qualified borrowers buying property in rural areas who are unable to obtain loans elsewhere. Funds are borrowed from the U.S. Treasury. See also: Government loan

  • Second home

    A property occupied part-time by a person in addition to his or her primary residence.

    Second mortgage

    A second mortgage or junior lien is a loan you take out using your house as collateral while you still have another loan secured by your house.

    Secured loans

    Loans for which the borrower gives the lender a lien on property such as an automobile, boat, other personal property or real estate that will serve as collateral for the loan.

    Security

    The property that will be pledged as collateral for a loan. If the borrower defaults, the lender can sell the collateral to satisfy the debt.

    Seller financing

    Seller financing is a loan that the seller of your home makes to you. 

    Settlement

    The completion of a property’s sale or purchase, or the completion of all steps necessary to receive the proceeds of (and create an obligation to repay) a loan. See also: Closing

    Servicer

    Your mortgage servicer is the company that sends you your mortgage statements. Your servicer also handles the day-to-day tasks of managing your loan.

    Your loan servicer typically processes your loan payments, responds to borrower inquiries, keeps track of principal and interest paid, and manages your escrow account (if you have one). The loan servicer may initiate foreclosure under certain circumstances. Your servicer may or may not be the same company that originally gave you your loan.

    Settlement agent

    A person or entity that conducts the settlement to transfer title of the property and to close on the mortgage loan. May be an attorney, a title insurer, a title agent or an escrow agent.

    Shared appreciation mortgage

    Under a shared appreciation mortgage, you agree to give your lender a share of any increase in the value of your home. 

    Short sale

    A short sale is a sale of your home for less than what you owe on your mortgage. A short sale is an alternative to foreclosure, but because it is a sale, you will have to leave your home. If your lender or servicer agrees to a short sale, you may be able to sell your home to pay off your mortgage, even if the sale price or proceeds turn out to be less than the balance remaining on your mortgage. A short sale is a type of loss mitigation. If you live in a state in which you are responsible for any deficiency, which is the difference between the value of your property and the amount you still owe on your mortgage loan, you will want to ask your lender to waive the deficiency. If the lender waives the deficiency, get the waiver in writing and keep it for your records.

    Single-family residence

    A detached individual housing unit. The property shares no common ground with neighboring properties and shares no wall or roof, but can be part of a planned unit development (PUD).

    SOFR

    Secured Overnight Financing Rate; SOFR is a broad measure of the cost of borrowing cash overnight collateralized by U.S. Treasury securities.

    Start rate

    The starting interest rate for an adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) loan or variable-rate home equity line of credit. Also known as an initial rate or intro rate. It provides lower interest and lower monthly payments at the beginning but may adjust at the next adjustment period.

    Subprime mortgage

    When lenders use the term, they generally mean a loan program for borrowers who do not qualify for a prime loan, often with a higher interest rate.

    Subordinate financing

    Any mortgage or other lien that has a priority lower than that of the first mortgage. The subordinate loan has a claim to payment in a foreclosure only after the first mortgage is paid.
    Survey

    A survey is a drawing of your property showing the location of the lot, the house and any other structures, as well as any improvements on the property.

    Swing loan

    See: Bridge loan

  • Term

    The number of years it will take to pay off a loan. The loan term is used to determine the payment amount, repayment schedule and total interest paid over the life of the loan.

    Third-party fees

    Fees charged for services rendered by parties other than the borrower or the lender. Such fees may include appraisal, credit report, title and flood certifications.

    Title

    Written evidence of ownership in property.

    Title company

    The agency that will investigate a property’s title (or deed) for discrepancies or undiscovered liens and that will issue title insurance to the lender after the title is deemed clear.

    Title service fees

    Title service fees are part of the closing costs you pay when getting a mortgage. When you purchase a home, you receive a document most often called a deed, which shows the seller transferred their legal ownership, or “title,” to the home to you. Title service fees are costs associated with issuing a title insurance policy for the lender.  

    Title insurance

    Insurance that protects an interested party, either the owner or the lender, against issues that would affect legal ownership of the property.

    Title search

    An examination of records used to determine the legal ownership of property and all liens and encumbrances on it. Usually performed by a title company or attorney.

    Total interest percentage (TIP)

    The Total Interest Percentage (TIP) is a disclosure that tells you how much interest you will pay over the life of your mortgage loan.

    The Total Interest Percentage (TIP) is a disclosure that tells you how much interest you will pay over the life of your mortgage loan.

    Transaction fee

    The fee that may be charged each time you draw on your credit line.

    Treasury index

    An index that is used to determine interest rate changes for certain adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) plans. It is based on the results of auctions that the U.S. Treasury holds for its Treasury bills and securities or is derived from the U.S. Treasury’s daily yield curve, which is based on the closing market bid yields on actively traded Treasury securities in the over-the-counter market. See also: Prime rate

    TRID

    "TRID" is an acronym that some people use to refer to the TILA RESPA Integrated Disclosure rule.

    Trustee

    A fiduciary that holds or controls property for the benefit of another.

    Truth in Lending Act

    A federal law requiring disclosure of credit terms using a standard format. This is intended to facilitate comparisons between the lending terms of different financial institutions. Read about the Truth in Lending Act on the Dept. of the Treasury website

  • Unapplied Funds

    When your entire payment or a portion of your payment received by Bank of America may be placed into a Suspense account.

    See the How does a suspense account work? FAQ in the Making mortgage payments section on our FAQ page.

    Underwriter

    The person who approves or denies a home loan, based on the lender’s underwriting and approval criteria.

    Underwriting

    The lender’s process of deciding whether to make a loan to a potential borrower based on credit, employment, assets and other factors, and the matching of this risk to an appropriate rate, term and loan amount.

    Uniform Residential Loan Application (1003)

    The standard loan application form published by the Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) and used by most lenders.

    Unpaid Principal Balance

    When we use the term Unpaid Principal Balance, we mean the amount you borrowed (which may include amounts that have been added to your principal balance in connection with loan modifications) over the history of the loan that has not yet been paid back. We may charge you interest each month on the Unpaid Principal Balance (or amount owed), according to the terms of your loan.

    Unsecured lines of credit

    Typically used when referring to a loan or a line of credit (unsecured loan, unsecured line of credit) that is not backed by collateral.

    Unsecured loan

    Typically used when referring to a loan or a line of credit (unsecured loan, unsecured line of credit) that is not backed by collateral.

    Upfront costs

    The costs you must pay when applying for a loan. Typically these include loan application fees. Some lenders require some of your closing costs also be paid when you apply.

    USDA loan

    The Rural Housing Service, part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) offers mortgage programs with no down payment and generally favorable interest rates to rural homebuyers who meet the USDA’s income eligibility requirements.

  • VA loan

    A VA loan is a loan program offered by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) to help servicemembers, veterans, and eligible surviving spouses buy homes.  The VA does not make the loans but sets the rules for who may qualify and the mortgage terms. The VA guarantees a portion of the loan to reduce the risk of loss to the lender. The loans generally are only available for a primary residence.

    Vacation home

    A vacation home is a single-family property that the borrower occupies in addition to his or her primary residence. The property cannot be considered income-producing and must not be part of a mandatory rental pool, but occasionally may be rented to friends and relatives. When property is classified as a second home, rental income may not be used to qualify the applicant. A 2- to 4-unit property is not eligible for second home status. Also known as second home.

    Variable rate

    An interest rate that may fluctuate or change periodically, often in relation to an index such as the prime rate or other criteria. Payments may increase or decrease accordingly.

    Variable-rate monthly minimum payment

    The minimum amount you will need to pay each month on your home equity line of credit, or HELOC (does not include any payments for the Fixed- Rate Loan Payment Option). The payment amount includes both principal and interest (minimum of $100). The monthly required payment may vary each month and is based on your outstanding loan balance and fluctuating interest rate. In general, this payment is intended to repay your loan balance in substantially equal principal and interest installments over the remaining loan term, based on the balance and rate information at the time of each monthly calculation.

  • W-2

    A wage and tax statement provided by your employer annually. The W-2 form details your income and the various local and federal taxes withheld from your income. It is provided to the IRS along with your tax return.

    Walk-through

    A final inspection shortly before settlement to make sure the property is in the same condition that it was at the time the offer contract was written.

    What-if analysis

    An affordability analysis that is based on a what-if scenario. A what-if analysis is useful if you do not have complete data or if you want to explore the effect of various changes to your income, liabilities, or available funds or to the qualifying ratios or down payment expenses that are used in the analysis.

    Where is this found?

    Your application number is listed in your Welcome Letter or other bank communications regarding this application. If you haven’t received your Welcome Letter or need help with your application number, please call 1.800.269.3084.

    Why do we ask for this?

    When you create online credentials, we take extensive precautions to protect your information and verify your identity. Your Social Security number allows us to confirm your identity.

    Windstorm insurance

    This coverage is typically required in coastal areas and pays for property damage resulting from a windstorm. Like flood and earthquake coverage, windstorm insurance covers damage to the dwelling and, in some cases, personal property and living expenses if the dwelling is uninhabitable. Some states offer market assistance programs or joint underwriting associations to help homeowners find coverage in areas where coverage is scarce.

    Wire transfer

    A transfer of money from one person’s bank to another person’s bank account, either domestically or internationally.

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  • Year-end statement

    The report shows how much was paid in interest during the year, as well as the remaining mortgage loan balance at the end of the year. If the bank has an impound account for you, it will also show how much was paid and reserved in property taxes. If the bank does not have a property tax impound account, then tax details are not displayed on the report.

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